modal aspects

The fifteen aspects, also known as modal aspects, are distinct ways (for example, numerically or spatially) that creatures relate to other creatures within the fabric of creation.

This way of explaining creation as a web of ways of relating and not just as a collection of different kinds of things was first worked out by Herman Dooyeweerd, a Dutch philosopher (1894-1977) who made numerous contributions to philosophy and theoretical thought including innovative understandings of the relationship between religion and philosophy, the nature of diversity and coherence in everyday experiences, and particular views of meaning, being, time and self. Dooyeweerd is most famous, though, for his notion of the  fifteen modal aspects.

The 15 aspects are:

  1. Quantitative: amount
  2. Spatial: continuous extension
  3. Kinematic: flowing movement
  4. Physical: energy, matter
  5. Biotic/Organic: life functions, self-maintenance
  6. Sensitive/Psychic: feeling and response
  7. Analytical: distinction, conceptualization
  8. Formative: formative power, achievement, technology, technique
  9. Lingual: symbolic communication
  10. Social: social interaction
  11. Economic: frugal use of resources
  12. Aesthetic: harmony, surprise, fun
  13. Juridical: due (rights, responsibility)
  14. Ethical: self-giving love
  15. Pistic: faith, vision, commitment, belief